1. Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam requires about 110 Scientific Officer 'E' & 'D', Technical Officer 'C' & 'D', Category I & II Trainees Last Date : 20 days after publication 2. Centre for Marine Living Resources and Ecology, Kochi requires 104 Project Scientists, Research Fellows and Technical Assistants and Field Assistants Last Date : 30.09.2012 3. Central Ordnance Depot, Dehu Road requires 44 LDC, Barber, Packer, Sawyer, Messenger and Mazdoor Last Date : 21 days after publication 4. Cordite Factory, Aruvankadu requires 20 Labourer (Semiskilled) Last Date: 21 days after publication 5. National Institute of Rock Mechanics, Champion Reefs, Kolar Gold Fields, requires 16 Scientist/Scientific/Supporting/ Administrative Staff Last Date : 30 days after publication 6. Neyveli Lignite Corporation Limited, Neyveli requires 14 Hindi Translators Last Date : 06.10.2012 7. RITES Limited, Gurgaon invites applications for recruitment of Graduate Executive Trainees (GET)-2012 in various disciplines** span>

Friday, August 8, 2008

Current Affairs Questionnaire

Current Affairs Questionnaire 2008

1. Who is the present Governor of the Maharashtra ? ______

(A) S.K.Singh

(B) S.S.Sidhu

(C) R.L.Bhatia

(D) S.C.jamir

Ans (D)

2. Who is selected for Ramon Magsaysay Award for Community Leadership for the year 2008?

(A) Kiran Desai

(B) Akio Ishii

(C) Gawad Kalinga Community Development Foundation

(D) Dr. Prakash Amte and Dr. Mandakini Amte

Ans (D)

3. The global summit of women 2008 concluded in June 2008 at -

(A) Cairo

(B) Vienna

(C) Tokyo

(D) Hanoi

Ans (D)

4. Who among the following has been selected for The Best Parliamentarian Award for 2007?

(A) Shri Man Mohan Singh

(B) Shri Mani Sankar Ayer

(C) P. Chidambaram

(D) Priyaranjan Das Munshi

Ans (D)

5. Who among the following will host 5th CISM World Military games 2011?

(A) Russia

(B) China

(C) Italy

(D) Brazil

Ans (D)

6. Who among the following was honored with "Mahatma Gandhi International Award for Reconciliation?

(A) Nelson Mandela

(B) Desmond Titu

(C) Olafur Ragnar

(D) Javed Akhtar

Ans (A)

7. G8 is a group of _____________

(A) Nuclear Supplying Countries.

(B) countries to look security of Globe.

(C) countries to have nuclear weapons.

(D) Un official forum of richest industrialized countries.

Ans (D)

8. From which book written by controversial writer Taslima Nasrin, few sentences were withdrawn?

(A) Dwikhanditha

(B) The Crescent and the Pen

(C) My Girlhood

(D) K.A

Ans (A)

9. Who among was selected for B.C.Roy National Award for the year 2006?

(A) Dr. Y.Nayudamma

(B) Dr. Ramesh Babu

(C) Dr. Avinash Chander

(D) Dr. Ghose

Ans (B)

10. Who is the first President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal?

(A) Girija Prasad Koirala

(B) Ram Baran Yadav

(C) Prachanda

(D) Kul Bahadur Gurung

Ans (B)

11. Who is present Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission?

(A) Y.V.Reddy

(B) Man Mohan Sing

(C) Montek S. Ahluwalia

(D) V. Narayana Swamy

Ans (C)

12. Which of the following country changed as Democratic Federal Republic from Monarchy?

(A) Bhutan

(B) HongkOng

(C) Philippines

(D) Nepal

Ans (C)

13. Which of the following is being constructed to be the largest port in India?

(A) Krishna Patnam

(B) Visakha Patnam

(C) Cochi

(D) Chennai

Ans (A)

14. Who is present secretary for foreign affairs?

(A) Pranab Mukherji

(B) Anand Sharma

(C) Suresh Kalmadi

(D) Shiv Shankar Menon

Ans (D)

15. Who is the captain for Indian Team for Test Series in Sri Lanka?

(A) Mahendra Dhoni

(B) Yuvaraj Singh

(C) Anil Kumble

(D) Rahul Dravid

Ans (C)

16.The Best of Booker prize for 2008 has been won by -

(A) J.M.Kotzee

(B) J.G.Ferrari

(C) Salman Rushdie

(D) Pat Baskers

Ans (C)

17. Who is the winner of Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2006 which was announced in July 2008 ?

(A). Shyam Benegal

(B). B.R.Chopra

(C). Saumitra Chatterjee

(D). Tapan Sinha

Ans (D)

18. Who among the following is the author of the book "Unaccustomed Earth"?

(A). Shobha De

(B). Arundhati Roy

(C). A. P. J. Kalam

(D). Jhumpa Lahiri

Ans (D)

19. Who among the following is the Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT)?

(A) . Narendra Bahadur Singh

(B). R.S.Mathoda

(C). Anand Mahindra

(D). P.K.Mishra

Ans (A)

20. The International Film Festival of India in November 2008 will be held in -

(A). Goa

(B). Maharashtra

(C). Karnataka

(D). Kerala

Ans (A)

21. Who among the following won the men’s Wimbledon single title in July 2008 ?

(A). Roger Federer

(B). Andy Roddick

(C). Novak Djokovic

(D). Rafael Nadal

Ans (D)

22. Who among the following is the Miss Universe 2008 is—

(A) Riyo Mori

(B) Dayana Mendoza

(C) Lisa Lazarus

(D) Simaran Kaur MundI

Ans (B)

23. Who among the following is the winner of the Wimbledon open Tennis Tournament 2008 of the Women's Single Title ?

(A)Serena Williams

(B)Venus Wlliams

(C)Maria Sharapova

(D)Ana Ivanovic

Ans (B)

24.Who among the following is the present President of International Cricket of council ?

(A). David Morgan

(B). Haroon Lorgat

(C). Sharad Pawar

(D). Kapil Dev

Ans (A)

25. Who among the following was the selected for Nepal Peace Award for 2008?

(A) Nepal Former King Gyanendra

(B) Nepal Mavoist Chairman Prachanda

(C) Nepal Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala

(D) None of these


26. Who has been named as NASSCOM,s Global Indian Award for 2008 ?

A). Anil Ambani

(B). Mukesh Ambani

(C). Ratan Tata

(D). Laxmi N.Mittal

Ans (C)

27. Which commercial bank among the following has made a record of opening 101 new branches in a single day ?

A) . Punjab National Bank

(B). State Bank Of India

(C). Bank of India

(D). Union Bank Of India

Ans (B)

28. As per data released by RBI on May 23, 2008 , foreign exchange reserves stood at -

A) . $ 302.52 billion

(B). $ 306.52 billion

(C). $ 316.17 billion

(D). $ 345.65 billion

Ans (C)