1. Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam requires about 110 Scientific Officer 'E' & 'D', Technical Officer 'C' & 'D', Category I & II Trainees Last Date : 20 days after publication 2. Centre for Marine Living Resources and Ecology, Kochi requires 104 Project Scientists, Research Fellows and Technical Assistants and Field Assistants Last Date : 30.09.2012 3. Central Ordnance Depot, Dehu Road requires 44 LDC, Barber, Packer, Sawyer, Messenger and Mazdoor Last Date : 21 days after publication 4. Cordite Factory, Aruvankadu requires 20 Labourer (Semiskilled) Last Date: 21 days after publication 5. National Institute of Rock Mechanics, Champion Reefs, Kolar Gold Fields, requires 16 Scientist/Scientific/Supporting/ Administrative Staff Last Date : 30 days after publication 6. Neyveli Lignite Corporation Limited, Neyveli requires 14 Hindi Translators Last Date : 06.10.2012 7. RITES Limited, Gurgaon invites applications for recruitment of Graduate Executive Trainees (GET)-2012 in various disciplines** span>

Monday, July 28, 2008



1. Who is the winner of Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2006 which was announced in July 2008 ?
a. Tapan Sinha
b. B.R.Chopra
c. Saumitra Chatterjee
d. Amitabh Bachchan
Ans. a
2. Who among the following is the author of the book "Unaccustomed Earth" ?
a. Shobha De
b. Arundhati Roy
c. A. P. J. Kalam
d. Jhumpa Lahiri
Ans. d
3. The CEO of the world’s largest financial institution, Citigroup, is
a. Ramani Ayer
b. Arun Sarin
c. Vikram Pandit
d. Indra Nooyi
Ans. c
4. Who among the following was crowned ‘FIFA 2007 World Footballer of the Year’ ?
a. Kaka
b. Zidane
c. Ronaldinho
d. Cristiano Ronaldo
Ans. a
5. What kind of mirror is used for rear view?
a. Concave
b. Convex
c. Plane
d. Simple glass
Ans. b
6. Who among the following has for Global WomensLeadership Award 2008 ?
a. Shabana Azmi
b. Sonia Gandhi
c. Luisa Dias Diogo
d. Vasundhara Raje
Ans. c
7. Who among the following is the Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT)?
a. Narendra Bahadur Singh
b. R.S.Mathoda
c. Anand Mahindra
d. P.K.Mishra
Ans. a
8. Which of the following is the unit of frequency?
a. Ampere
b. Joule
c. Hertz
d. Newton
Ans. c
9. Which of the following have the highest upper limit of audible range?
a. Bats
b. Dogs
c. Human beings
d. Whales
Ans. a
10. Who among the following was ranked as the No.1 player in the annual golf
rankings 2007?
a. Arjun Atwal
b. Mark Brown
c. Tiger Woods
d. Zach Johnson
Ans. c
11. The first-ever joint military exercise of Indian and Chinese troops was held in
a. Yunnan
b. Visakhapatnam
c. Beijing
d. Bengalaru
Ans. a
12. Who among the following is the Director-General of International Labour
Organisation ?
a. Angel Gurria
b. Jacques Rogge
c. Jacques Diouf
d. Juan Somavia
Ans. d
13. Which of the following is concerned with the study of characteristics, origin and
development of land forms?
a. Ecology
b. Geography
c. Geomorphology
d. Geology
Ans. c
14. Who among the following became the first batsman in the cricket history to score
150 or more runs in an innings in four consecutive Tests ?
a. Jacques Kallis
b. Sachin Tendulkar
c. Ricky Ponting
d. Kumara Sangakkara
Ans. d
15. The International Film Festival of India in November 2008 will be held in -
a. Goa
b. Maharashtra
c. Karnataka
d. Kerala
Ans. a
16. Which of the following countries is known as the Land of Midnight Sun ?
a. Belgium
b. Norway
c. Holland
d. Sweeden
Ans. b
17. Who among the following was elected the President of African National Congress
in December 2007 ?
a. Tandja Mamadou
b. Mwai Kibaki
c. Jacob Zuma
d. Thabo Mbeki
Ans. c
18. The 6th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas-2008 was held in
a. New Delhi
b. Mumbai
c. Bengalaru
d. Lucknow
Ans. a
19. Who among the following is the new Governor of Bihar ?
a. R.S.Gavai
b. Syed Sibti Razi
c. S.K.Singh
d. R.L.Bhatia
Ans. d
20. ’Nano’- the world’s cheapest car belongs to
a. Mitsubishi Motors
b. Tata Motors
c. General Motors
d. Honda Motors
Ans. b
21. China’s first homegrown regional jet is
a. ARJ21 – 700
b. ARJ71 – 200
c. ARJ51 – 700
d. ARJ71 – 500
Ans. a
22. Who among the following was announced as the new Chairman of Pakistan People’s Party after Benazir Bhutto’s assassination?
a. Asif Ali Zardari
b. Makhdoom Amin Fahim
c. Bilawal Bhutto Zardari
d. Shah Mehmood Qureishi
Ans. c
23. Who among the following won the men’s Wimbledon single title in July 2008 ?
a. Roger Federer
b. Rafael Nadal
c. Novak Djokovic
d. Andy Roddick
Ans. b
24. Madhesi National Liberation Front (MNLF) is an organisation active in which of the following countries ?
a. Pakistan
b. Uganda
c. Nepal
d. Myanmar
Ans. c
25. Who amongst the following was honoured with the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding given away in 2008 for the year 2007?
(a) Mr. Umaru Yar Adua
(b) Mr. Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva
(c) Mr. Vladimir Putin
(d) None Of these
ANS-(d) Olafur Ragnar